Friday, January 24, 2014

Concussion and a Chanel Bag

Hello Lovely Readers!

Hope all is well! Happy Weekend!


Sorry I haven't written in so long, I had a bit of a silly accident Wednesday night after posting. My loving boyfriend made us drinks and we were chatting about our days when we somehow managed to turn the conversation into a tickle fight (this happens pretty regularly, drinks or no). Before I had even finished one drink, we had wrestled our way off of the couch and onto the floor. My boyfriend is 6 feet 3 inches (187 cm); I am a whopping 5 feet 6 inches with flats. He has at least 60 or 70 pounds on me, so I'm not sure why I even try to fight back during our tickle wars. Anyhow, he was laying down on the ground and I was trying to break between his legs to elbow him. As I was leaning down, his knee moved and hit me in the nose, forcefully sending the back of my head into the wall. Yes, that is correct. I got kneed in the nose so hard I flew into the wall... because of a tickle fight. This was at approximately 11pm. 


But my evening didn't stop there. I felt woozy and couldn't see straight. My boyfriend googled concussion symptoms and met most of the criteria. He walked with me to the A&E (UK version of the ER) where I got checked in and examined. My blood pressure was extremely high for me, 143 over 66. I waited for what felt like forever (mostly because I was tired, nervous, and totally out of it) to see the doctor. He confirmed I had a mild concussion. Oh. No.


We walked home (it was 2am) and I immediately grabbed my phone to email my boss. I was sleep deprived, confused, and plagued with having to write my boss telling her that I was going to miss my first full day of work because I had a concussion. I emailed her calling it a "chance accident", and was impressed with my clever wording considering the conditions.


Next I had to tell my mom. It was 2:30am in London, so it was only 10:30pm on my mom's side of the world. I FaceTimed her and she knew something was wrong. She immediately began questioning me - the usual mom questions: "What's wrong!?" "Are you okay?!" - until I told her to calm down. I began my story.


"So my boyfriend came over for dinner and we-"

"OH MY GOD YOU GOT MARRIED!?"
"No, mom. We are not married. Calm down."
"Okay, yeah, okay"
"So anyways, we were having a tickle fight and I-"
"YOU'RE PREGNANT!?"
"Mom shut up. I have a concussion. We got in a tickle fight."
"THANK GOODNESS! I was so worried!"
"Yea, no worries, just some minor head trauma. Thanks mom."

My mom took the news much better than expected, especially considering I'm an only child. She was so relieved to hear it was something minor like a swollen nose and head trauma. 


I went to sleep around 3am, but was woken up every few hours to make sure I didn't lose consciousness. I woke up around 10am to an email from Julia, CEO of UpperStreet. She was so kind and understanding and told me to take it easy- and asked me what happened. Great. Now I have to explain to the CEO of this luxurious shoe company that I have had trauma resulting from a zealous tickle war. Why not just put it in the cheap Metro tabloids with an ugly selfie under the headline "Drunken Girl Falls Too Hard For Her Boyfriend"!? I email Julia explaining the accident, feeling completely humiliated, but tried to have a sense of humor about the situation.


When my boyfriend texted me asking what I needed from the store on his way home from work last night, I told him I needed Paracetamol, Dinner, and a Chanel Bag. He had strict instructions not to return without all of the items, but being the bold young man he is, he returned without the Chanel Bag. I feel that if he gives me a concussion, I could at least get an apology present, right?


Yesterday was an unproductive day- nothing but Vogue, the Internet, and junk food- and I went to bed at 8:30pm last night. 


I woke up, went to UpperStreet, and enjoyed working on some projects. Julia told me she thought the way I got my concussion was "brilliant" and said it made her laugh, which was a relief. I am feeling a bit better, but am just tired and a bit lethargic. I plan on having a relaxed weekend with plenty of Elle, videos of fashion shows, and chocolates. Perhaps I'll even be brave and write an opinion piece on a designer or trend. Also- still waiting on my parcel from Harvey Nichols. Hopefully in comes in the next few days.


Hope everyone has a fabulous weekend!


xo
BJordan

No comments:

Post a Comment